Diet with lactose intolerance

Pin
Send
Share
Send
Send


Lactose is included in every dairy product of natural origin. Accordingly, lactose-containing foods include milk and foods and drinks made therefrom. However, many people do not tolerate lactose, they have lactose intolerance (lactose intolerance). But with some tips on what to look for in lactose intolerance, there is nothing to stand in the way of a healthy and balanced diet despite intolerance to lactose.

What are lactose-containing foods?

Lactose-containing foods should not be on the diet of sufferers. These foods include in particular:

  • buttermilk
  • milk powder
  • evaporated milk
  • butter
  • Quark
  • cream
  • yogurt
  • whey
  • cream cheese
  • ice cream
  • milk chocolate

In addition to cow's milk, the milk of other mammals such as goat or mare's milk is lactose-containing. On suitable replacement for some of these products, for example, soybean milk, soybean curd and soy-based coffee creamers. For example, vegetable margarine can be used as a substitute for butter.

Tolerability of dairy products

Also well-tolerated for people with lactose intolerance are products that have undergone an enzymatic conversion in the course of their formation and have thus reduced lactose. This means that lactic acid bacteria have already largely converted large portions of milk sugar into lactic acid. These include:

  • mature cut, hard, sour milk and soft cheese
  • probiotic yoghurt with bacterial lactase
  • clarified butter

How much lactose is contained in a dairy product depends on how it is processed. As lactose-free and therefore as well tolerated food with less than 0.1 grams of lactose per 100 grams Foods.

Lactose content in finished products

Lactose is not only found in milk and dairy products, but also hidden in a variety of industrially produced foods. For example, in ready meals, confectionery, bread and bread products, spice mixtures, sweetener tablets, instant products, meat and sausages may be lactose.

When buying groceries, the list of ingredients on the packaging can tell you if milk sugar is included. If in doubt, the manufacturer can also be asked for information.

Alternatives to lactose-containing milk

In the meantime, there is low-milk milk in the food trade. Other alternatives include soy milk, almond milk, rice milk, coconut milk or milk from cereals such as oat or spelled milk.

"May contain traces of milk constituents"

On this note you will often come across food packaging. The indication means that very small quantities of dairy products are contained in the respective product. This is relevant for allergy sufferers, because even the smallest amounts can often lead to allergic reactions.

However, lactose intolerant people can consume such foods without concern since the amount of lactose they contain is below the tolerance level.

Lactose content in medicines

Also in medicines lactose can occur as an additive. In general, however, the amount in tablets or capsules is so low that most people with lactose intolerance tolerate these drugs without discomfort.

If you are still concerned about taking a medicine, ask your doctor for a lactose-free alternative.

Prevent calcium deficiency

In general, people with lactose intolerance must take special care to ensure that they receive enough calcium despite limited milk consumption. The milk sugar contained in dairy products is an important source of calcium. Alternative calcium sources can be:

Загрузка...

Pin
Send
Share
Send
Send


Загрузка...

Popular Categories